[pccgrads] Fwd: postdoc available in Arctic planktonic ecosystem modelling

Luanne Thompson luanne at uw.edu
Tue Jan 8 08:01:45 PST 2019


FYI interesting post-doc in the UK.

---------- Forwarded message ---------
From: Neil Banas <neilbanas at gmail.com>
Date: Tue, Jan 8, 2019 at 7:56 AM
Subject: postdoc available in Arctic planktonic ecosystem modelling
To: Berge Jørgen <jorgen.berge at uit.no>, Katja.Fennel at dal.ca <
katja.fennel at gmail.com>, Chris Edwards <cedwards at ucsc.edu>, Jerome Fiechter
<fiechter at ucsc.edu>, Curtis Deutsch <cdeutsch at uw.edu>, LuAnne Thompson <
luanne at ocean.washington.edu>, Parker MacCready <p.maccready at gmail.com>,
Susan Allen <sallen at eos.ubc.ca>, David Sutherland <dsuth at uoregon.edu>,
Rubao Ji <rji at whoi.edu>, Frederic Maps <frederic.maps at bio.ulaval.ca>,
Charles Stock - NOAA Federal <charles.stock at noaa.gov>, Enrique Curchitser <
enrique at marine.rutgers.edu>, Manu Di Lorenzo <edl at eas.gatech.edu>, Sarah
Giddings <sgiddings at ucsd.edu>, Eric D'Asaro <dasaro at apl.washington.edu>,
Ken Coyle <kocoyle at alaska.edu>, Diane Stoecker <stoecker at umces.edu>, Ray
Sambrotto <sambrott at ldeo.columbia.edu>, Ken Haste Andersen <kha at aqua.dtu.dk>,
Kai Wirtz <kai.wirtz at hzg.de>, Jody Deming <jdeming at uw.edu>


Dear colleagues,
Please forward this to anyone who you think might be interested....
thanks,
Neil

------

A *postdoctoral research position in marine planktonic ecosystem modelling*
is available with Strathclyde’s Marine Science group, as part of the NERC
Changing Arctic Ocean (CAO) programme (
http://www.changing-arctic-ocean.ac.uk/). The goals for this position are
1) to improve our understanding of phytoplankton dynamics across the
seasonal ice zone in diverse Arctic environments, by combining new and
historical field observations with numerical plankton models, and 2) to
develop methods for incorporating this improved understanding into
existing, large-scale model systems.

The position is for 24 months, with start date in spring or summer 2019.
The research associate will join a active, interdisciplinary community of
modellers and seagoing marine scientists in the Strathclyde Faculty of
Science, as well as having the opportunity for short and extended visits to
a variety of UK and international project partners. A PhD in oceanography,
mathematical ecology or a related discipline is required, as are excellent
programming skills and some prior knowledge of both plankton biology and
physical oceanography.

Further particulars are available at *http://tiny.cc/prize-peanuts-pdra
<https://nemo.strath.ac.uk/owa/redir.aspx?SURL=7WelsqvIKkf1QjrRn8jTameDPfCSl8lo-L9divVVv91evsEYgHXWCGgAdAB0AHAAOgAvAC8AdABpAG4AeQAuAGMAYwAvAHAAcgBpAHoAZQAtAHAAZQBhAG4AdQB0AHMALQBwAGQAcgBhAA..&URL=http%3a%2f%2ftiny.cc%2fprize-peanuts-pdra>*
and please contact Dr Neil Banas (neil.banas at strath.ac.uk,
http://neilbanas.com/projects) with any questions.


--
LuAnne Thompson
Walters Professor of Oceanography
Adjunct Professor Physics and Atmospheric Sciences

Office: 206 543 9965
Cell: 206 676 2685

faculty.washington.edu/luanne/
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://mailman11.u.washington.edu/pipermail/pccgrads/attachments/20190108/daf6bc44/attachment.html>


More information about the pccgrads mailing list